Childlike Trust, Faith, Hope

childlike faithFrom the Heart of Abba Today:

In something I have been doing we have been looking at the “I am” statements of Jesus found in the Gospel of John and what they mean for us. Last time we discussed in detail what it meant when Jesus said:

“I am the door of the sheep John 10:7-9

Then said Jesus unto them again, Verily, verily, I say unto you, I am the door of the sheep.  All that ever came before me are thieves and robbers: but the sheep did not hear them. I am the door: by me if any man enter in, he shall be saved, and shall go in and out, and find pasture.

Back in bible times a shepherd was often literally THE DOOR for the night pen. He would lay there at night to guard the opening. No sheep would exit and nothing could enter unless the shepherd allowed.

Jesus is also saying that He is the ONLY way.

John 10:27:

My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me.

Then we see that as His sheep (Psalm 23 The Lord is my shepherd ). Also we see it clearly stated in Psalm 100:3  “Know that the LORD is God. It is he who made us, and we are his; we are his people, the sheep of his pasture.”

Often multiple flocks of sheep would sleep in a communal pen. In the morning each shepherd would call his own sheep and they would all follow him. Sheed knew, really knew the voice of their shepherd.

“I am the good shepherd”

John 10:11, 14

11 “I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep.

14 “I am the good shepherd; I know my sheep and my sheep know me—

This week we are remembering our Shepherd. Who did lay down His life for us. No one forced Him. He did it for each of us. John 10: 17-18 For this reason the Father loves Me, because I lay down My life so that I may take it again. “No one has taken it away from Me, but I lay it down on My own initiative. I have authority to lay it down, and I have authority to take it up again. This commandment I received from My Father.”

Can we become as deeply trusting as the innocent trust of a small child as represented in these sweet little hands? Can we remember that our Shepherd totally cares for us, is SOVEREIGN and truly is working ALL things for our good and His glory?

Even when …..

No matter what….?

Leave a Reply

